Check availability & book online   

For guaranteed best prices, phone +44 (0)1539 442951

Things to do

 

Southview is situated in the heart of Windermere village and is an ideal base for spending time in the Lake District. Whether you want a relaxing stay or an adrenaline filled activity, there is sure to be something or somewhere for you.

 

For general tourist information and what’s on see: The tourist office website - www.cumbria-the-lake-district.co.uk

 

Local places of interest:

 

Windermere Lake cruises - www.windermere-lakecruises.co.uk

Ullswater Steamers - www.ullswater-steamers.co.uk/

The Beatrix Potter Museum – www.hop-skip-jump.com

 

Aira Force Waterfall - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/aira-force-and-ullswater/

Aquarium of the Lakes - www.lakesaquarium.co.uk

Brockhole - www.brockhole.co.uk/

Dove Cottage - www.wordsworth.org.uk

Holehird gardens - www.holehirdgardens.org.uk

Holker Hall and Gardens - www.holker.co.uk/holker-hall-and-gardens.html

Lakeland Motor Museum - www.lakelandmotormuseum.co.uk

Muncaster Castle - www.muncaster.co.uk

South Lakes Animal Park - www.wildanimalpark.co.uk/

Townend - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/townend/

Rydal Mount - www.rydalmount.co.uk/

 

 

You can head out on foot directly from Southview Guest house on a variety of paths both to the lake shore and up into the hills. As keen walker ourselves, we have a variety of books for you to peruse and are happy to advise and lend maps.

 

For a link to downloadable routes see: www.golakes.co.uk/adventure-capital/walking-guides-download.aspx

 

For more information about local activities, please see the links below:

 

 

Tours:

 

Mountain Goat - www.mountain-goat.com

Lake District Tours - www.lakedistricttours.co.uk

Lakes Supertours - www.lakes-supertours.com

 

 

Bike Hire:

 

Country Lanes in Windermere - www.countrylaneslakedistrict.co.uk/

Holmescales Activity Centre - www.holmescales.com

 

 

Horse Riding:

 

Lakeland pony trekking – www.lakelandponytrekking.co.uk

Bigland Hall Equestrian - www.biglandhall.com

 

 

Water based activities:

 

Low Wood – www.englishlakes.co.uk/watersports

Windermere Canoe and Kayak Centre - www.windermerecanoekayak.com/OB

Sailing in Windermere - www.obsailing.co.uk/

Outrun Sailing - www.outrunsailing.co.uk/

 

 

Hot Air Ballooning:

 

High Adventure - www.high-adventure.co.uk/

Virgin Balloon Flights - www.virginballoonflights.co.uk/

 

 

Golf:

 

Windermere Golf Club - www.windermeregolfclub.net/

Carus Green Golf Club (Kendal) - www.carusgreen.co.uk/

Kendal Golf Club - www.kendalgolfclub.co.uk

 

 

 

Contact us via +44 (0)1539 442951 or email us at admin@southview.co.uk

Photos by Dave Willis, Tony West & Ben Bardon courtesy of Cumbria Tourism | admin